Vidhan Bhavan


The new Vidhan Sabha Complex consists of six-sectors arranged to give an overall circular plan of 140m in diameter covering an area of about 29000 sqm. Within the extent of the building, the existing ground level falls by approximately 8m which has been integrated in the design in an imaginative manner and has resulted in two to five storey buildings.

The normal grid for the floor system is 10m x 10m having two way beams and secondary ribs at one third points in both directions.

The roof structures include a 26m diameter hemispherical dome on the Vidhan Sabha hall a doubly curved shell on a tringular base with two 43m sides and one 36m for a multipurpose hall a composite space truss in concrete and steel to cover 14m x 14m of Vidhan Parishad and two 30m x 30m lobby areas each supported on four columns with an interesting roof system.

Architect: C M Correa :

Design Engineers: J Ghose V Mutneja ‘YNDewan RK Gupta Ekbal Hussain

Legislative Assembly and High Court Complex


The Legislative Assembly comprises of an assembly block, four office-blocks and a council block covering 20,000sqm. The assembly hall has a folded-plate dome
roof with 22m diameter at the base and a rise of 9m at the centre. The High court has six blocks: a central entrance block, a Chief Justice’s block, and four typical court blocks covering 12000sqm. The complex is a three-to-five-storeyed reinforced concrete framed structure with waffle floors.

Architect: Kanvinde & Rai

Design Engineer: Ashok Nanda

City Centre-Civic Block

New Delhi

The 18-storeyed Civic Block of New Delhi Municipal Corporation covers an area of 24000 sqm. It is supported on a central core and four shear walls which curve outwards from a width of 28m at the ninth floor level to a width of 64m at the ground level with large three-storey high opening in the two-central shear walls to provide an inner atrium. The central shear walls are prestressed in stages and the building is supported on driven cast-in-situ piles.

Architect: Kuldip Singh
Design Engineers: Krishna Hegde SC Sawhney

Other Projects

Central Pool

New Delhi

Architect: NDMC

Assembly Complex


Architect: BV Doshi

Institute of Town Planners

New Delhi

Architect: Kanvinde, Rai & Chowdhury

National Institute of Public Finance and Policy

New Delhi

Architect: Raj Rewal

Indian Embassy


Architect: Ranjit Sabikhi

British Council Library

New Delhi

Architect: Charles Correa